About OSER
Employee Programs
Human Resource Services
Reference Center
Return to About OSER Menu   —  Return to Previous
PrintPrint Version
Awards and Recognition

OSER -- formerly known as DER -- has received the following awards and recognition:

Agency Awards:

  • Our publication, History of the Wisconsin Civil Service, 1905-2005, received an honorable mention from the Wisconsin Library Association for Wisconsin's Distinguished Document Award (2005).  (A copy was also forwarded to the American Library Association, Government Documents Roundtable for possible national recognition in 2007.)
  • IPMA-CPS Grant, for innovative state human resource programs (State of Wisconsin Enterprise Leadership Academy) (2005)
  • Eugene R. Rooney Jr. Award, National Association of State Personnel Executives, for "innovative state human resource programs" (Working Together in Labor Management Cooperation) (2001)
  • Governing Magazine gave Wisconsin an "A-" grade in Human Resources, one of only three states to receive such a high mark. (2001) 
  • Governor's Special Minority Business Award (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001)
  • State Employees Combined Campaign, 2nd Place, Percent Participation (2000); 3rd place (1998, 1999)
  • Equal Opportunity Award, Milwaukee Urban League, for minority hiring achievements (1998, 1999)
  • Exemplary Achievement Award, Council of State Governments (1998)
  • Best Practice Leadership Award, Saratoga Institute (1996)
  • National finalist, Innovation in American Government Award, Ford Foundation (1995)
  • Best Practices Award, Society for Human Resource Management, Greater Madison Chapter (1995)
  • Agency Excellence Award (large agency), International Personnel Management Association (1994)
  • Exemplary State and Local (EXSL) Award, National Center for Public Productivity (1994)
  • Eugene R. Rooney Jr. Award, National Association of State Personnel Executives, for "innovative state human resource programs" (1994)
  • Excellence in Recruitment Award, Milwaukee Urban League (1994)
  • National semifinalist, State and Local Government Award, Ford Foundation (1994)

Individual Awards:

  • Helping Hand Award, Wisconsin Community Action Program Association, awarded for recognition of her dedication and leadership in addressing the needs of low-income people (2003) (Kathryn Moore) 
  • Women of Courage Award, recognizing an individual who has overcome barriers in attaining economic and/or emotional self-sufficiency, Wisconsin Community Action Program Association (2002) (Jean Fillner)
  • Individual Suggester of the Year, State Employee Suggestion Board (2002) (Brenda Williams) 
  • Public Official of the Year, Governing Magazine (2000)
  • Warner Stockberger Achievement Award, International Personnel Management Association (2000)
  • Outstanding HR Practitioner, American Society for Public Administration, Personnel Section (2000)
  • Eugene R. Rooney Jr. Award, National Association of State Personnel Executives, for "leadership in state human resource management" (1999)
  • Certificate of Commendation, State Employee Suggestion Board (1995) (Robert Toomey)



Last Modified:  10/1/2007 2:27:08 PM
Return to About OSER Menu   —  Return to Previous

Quick Links:
Workforce Reduction Resources
**Inclement Weather Policy
2013-2015 (WLEA) Labor Agreement
2015-2017 Compensation Plan
Building Trades Rate Booklet
FMLA Toolkit
Monthly Health Insurance Premiums (3-Tier)

Site Map  | Home Page
Legal Notices |  Privacy Notice |  Acceptable Use Policy
Office of State Employment Relations
101 East Wilson Street, 4th Floor
Madison, WI  53702
Contact OSER
FAX:  608-267-1020

Web Site Provided by Dept. of Administration
DET's G2C/G2E Section © 2001 - 2016
The preferred browser for the OSER Internet is Internet Explorer 4.x or higher.
The site is best seen with the screen resolution at 800 x 600 or higher.